History of CSIS

CSIS Begins

In 1984, the Government of Canada passed an Act of Parliament for the creation of a civilian security intelligence service. This legislation not only gave birth to the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), it also clarified the differences between security intelligence activities and law-enforcement work, bringing to an end the 120-year interlocking of Canada's security intelligence service with the federal police force.

The evolution that led to the formation of CSIS began when Sir John A. Macdonald created the Western Frontier Constabulary in 1864. This was to be a "...detective and preventive police force, for the purpose of watching and patrolling the whole frontier from Toronto to Sarnia." The Constabulary operated along the Upper Canada borders and rail lines, reporting on activities related first to the American Civil War, then to Fenians whose goal was to overthrow English rule in Ireland. Eastern Canada was looked after by the Montreal Water Police, a federal agency like the Constabulary. Both forces reported to Macdonald.

In 1868 the government set up a 12-member Dominion Police force that was in charge of guarding public buildings and carrying out the previous responsibilities of the Western Frontier Constabulary. This force, under Gilbert McMicken and Joseph Coursol, assigned people to a security intelligence function when it was necessary, returning them to regular duties afterwards.

By the beginning of the First World War, the Dominion Police comprised 140 members.

  • Picture of Thomas D'Arcy McGee
  • Visual representation of Fenian invasions at Cook's Corners, Quebec, in 1870. Sketch by artist Adolphe Vogt 1842-1871.
  • Picture of Henri Le Caron, born Thomas Miller Beach.
  • Picture of the Secret Service office of the Dominion Police, Ottawa, 1909. The officer in charge was Inspector J. Parkinson, seated left in the foreground.

Within the RCMP

The Dominion Police, with its developing security intelligence function, was amalgamated with the 2,500 members of the Royal North West Mounted Police in 1920 to form the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). Between the two world wars, the security intelligence function remained small and inconspicuous. At headquarters in 1939, it employed three members and two stenographers, with field units in the larger cities investigating threats such as the fascist movement. The espionage activity related to the Second World War, and the subsequent defection of Soviet cypher clerk Igor Gouzenko in September 1945, removed any thoughts the government might have had about reducing the security intelligence function to pre-war levels.

Gouzenko's revelations of elaborate Soviet espionage networks operating in Canada ushered in the modern era of Canadian security intelligence. Previously, the "communist menace" had been viewed by authorities in terms of its threat to the labour movement. Gouzenko's information showed that the Soviets of the day were interested in more than cultivating disaffected workers: they were intent on acquiring military, scientific, and technological information by whatever means available to them. Such knowledge had become the key to advancement, and the Soviets intended to progress. Thus, as the post-war period gave way to the Cold War, Canadian security intelligence operations grew in response to this new threat.

  • Picture of RCMP Superintendent John Leopold (1890-1952)
  • Picture of press clipping.
  • Igor Gouzenko (1919-1982)

New Approach

Espionage, however, soon became only one aspect of the complex world facing those involved in Canadian intelligence work. The 1960s provided challenges of an entirely different kind. In Quebec, the Front de libération du Québec (FLQ) emerged and used assassination, kidnapping, bombing, and other acts of terrorism in attempting to achieve its political goal. Other events, such as the debate over the deployment of nuclear weapons on Canadian soil, the escalating involvement of the United States in Vietnam, and the evolution of a vigorous peace movement, carried a potential for politically motivated violence, foreign-influenced activities, and subversion. It was necessary to identify potential threats, but in order to fully maintain the democratic way of life of Canadians, it was also necessary to scrupulously protect the right to exercise legitimate political dissent.

These tasks were made all the more complex by the conflicting combination of priorities and responsibilities of security intelligence investigations as compared to police work. Two different Commissions, one chaired by Justice Mackenzie in 1969 and the other by Justice McDonald in 1977, recommended that the security intelligence functions be separated from the RCMP and that a civilian service be formed to carry out those functions. Both commissions recognized that the problem of balancing the need for accurate and effective security intelligence with the need to respect democratic rights and freedoms could not be adequately resolved as long as security intelligence responsibilities remained part of the federal police force.

  • Picture of the letter FLQ on a window.
  • Picture of 3 book's that introduced legislation for the creation of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service.

Creating CSIS

In 1970, following the report of the MacKenzie Commission, John Starnes, a foreign service officer with the Department of External Affairs, became the first civilian Director General of the RCMP Security Service. Institutional links between the Security Service and the main body of the RCMP became more flexible, but problems, due to the different natures of security intelligence work and police work, remained. The establishment of a civilian security intelligence service came with the findings and recommendations of the McDonald Commission. In August 1981, the federal government announced that a security intelligence service, separate from the RCMP, would be created. A Security Intelligence Transition Group task force was formed to plan and oversee the establishment of the new organization.

The first legislation to establish the security intelligence service, Bill C-157, the Act, was introduced in Parliament in May 1983. In response to public concern about the legislation, a special committee of the Senate was established to examine the Bill. Chaired by Senator Michael Pitfield, it produced findings and recommendations in November 1983. Acting on suggestions in this report, the federal government tabled amended legislation, Bill C-9, in the House of Commons in January 1984. It was passed by both Houses of Parliament and given Royal Assent in June 1984. CSIS began its formal existence on July 16, 1984 with Thomas D'Arcy (Ted) Finn as Director. In addition to creating a civilian security intelligence service, the Act also created the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC) and the Inspector General (IG) for CSIS to review the activities of CSIS and report to Parliament.

  • Visual graphic of the CSIS crest rests on a background of pale silver surrounded by a blue palisade, edged with gold; a red maple leaf is centred in the palisade. The Royal Crown sits atop the crest.
  • The CSIS Act received Royal Assent in June 1984 and came into force July 16 of the same year.
  • Picture of the CSIS National Headquarters, in Ottawa.

CSIS Adapts

In 1987, then Solicitor General of Canada James Kelleher directed former Clerk of the Privy Council, Gordon Osbaldeston, to review certain concerns raised by SIRC and present a plan of action. Osbaldeston's report recommended changes to the Executive Committee, proposed a new support infrastructure, and suggested elimination of the Counter-Subversion Branch. By 1988 the Service had a new Director, Reid Morden, and significant internal changes had been enacted, including the dismantling of the Counter-Subversion Branch, as had been suggested.

The Act that created CSIS also sought to ensure that the Service would continue to develop as an effective and responsible organization. To this end, section 56 called for a comprehensive review of the provisions and operations of the CSIS Act to be undertaken after July 1989. As required, the five-year review called for in the CSIS Act was completed by a Special Committee of the House of Commons under Chairman Blaine Thacker. The Committee's report, In Flux But Not In Crisis, completed in September of 1990, declared that the Service and the Act were essentially on course, but provided recommendations for improvement nonetheless. The then Solicitor General of Canada, Pierre Cadieux, responded to these recommendations in On Course, a study detailing the mandate and role of CSIS and Canada's national security requirements.

A third review of the dynamics of national security was completed during 1992. In view of the changed geo-political circumstances brought about by the end of the Cold War, the Solicitor General asked then Director of CSIS, Ray Protti, to review the changing security intelligence environment to determine whether the Service should restructure and what resources would be necessary to respond to the changing environment. The review concluded that the Service was essentially well-structured to respond to the changing security intelligence environment.

CSIS Today

More than twenty years after its creation, CSIS is a vastly different organization from the one that existed in 1984. The transition from a law-enforcement model to one focussing on intelligence gathering and counter-terrorism was done in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Under the leadership of Ward Elcock, from 1994 to 2004, the Service matured into an experienced, highly disciplined and effective intelligence organization. It adjusted its priorities to meet evolving threats both in North America and abroad. A premium was placed on intelligence information sharing. CSIS now has relationships with more than 200 agencies worldwide.

Meanwhile, the CSIS Act has survived the test of time. Just as it was intended, the Act continues to assure the human rights of Canadians.

In November 2004, Jim Judd was appointed Director of CSIS, replacing Acting Director Dale Neufeld. In June 2009, Richard B. Fadden was appointed Director of CSIS. In October 2013, Michel Coulombe was appointed Director.

Date modified:

Historique du SCRS

En 1984, le Parlement a adopté une loi créant un service civil de renseignement de sécurité. Cette loi non seulement a donné naissance au Service Canadien du Renseignement de Sécurité (SCRS), mais elle a aussi clarifié les distinctions entre les activités relatives aux renseignements de sécurité et le travail d'application de la loi, mettant fin à la relation qui avait existé entre la police fédérale et le service de renseignement de sécurité du Canada durant 120 ans.

L'évolution qui a mené à la formation du SCRS a débuté lorsque Sir John A. Macdonald a créé le Western Frontier Constabulary, en 1864. Cela devait être une « ... police détective et préventive, ayant pour but de surveiller et de patrouiller toute la frontière allant de Toronto à Sarnia ». Le Constabulary travaillait le long des frontières du Haut-Canada et des voies ferrées, rendant compte des activités liées d'abord à la Guerre de sécession, puis aux féniens dont l'objectif consistait à renverser le régime britannique en Irlande. La police maritime de Montréal (Montreal Water Police), un organisme fédéral semblable au Constabulary, s'occupait de l'Est du Canada. Les deux services relevaient de Sir Macdonald.

En 1868, le gouvernement a établi une police fédérale comptant 12 membres, en la chargeant de garder les édifices publics et de s'acquitter des responsabilités que détenait antérieurement le Western Frontier Constabulary. Cette police, sous la direction de Gilbert McMicken et de Joseph Coursol, assignait des gens à des fonctions de renseignements de sécurité quand cela était nécessaire, les renvoyant à leurs tâches régulières par la suite. Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, la police fédérale comptait 140 membres.

  • Thomas D'Arcy McGee, l'un des pères de la Confédération, a été assassiné par un Fenian extrémiste en 1868.
  • Invasion des Fenians à Cook's Corners, au Québec, en 1870. Croquis de l'artiste Adolphe Vogt, 1842 1871.
  • Henri Le Caron, né Thomas Miller Beach, était un vétéran de la guerre civile. Recruté en 1867 par les Britanniques, il a espionné le mouvement fenian aux États Unis. Le Caron était sans doute l'un des meilleurs agents secrets du gouvernement canadien.
  • Le bureau des services secrets de la Police du Canada à Ottawa, en 1909. L'officier responsable était l'inspecteur J. Parkinson, assis à la gauche à l'avant.

Sous la direction du GRC

La police fédérale, dont les fonctions relatives aux renseignements de sécurité prenaient forme, a fusionné avec les 2 500 membres de la gendarmerie Royal North West Mounted Police en 1920, pour former la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Entre les deux guerres mondial, la fonction de renseignements de sécurité est restée de faible envergure et passait inaperçue. Au siège social, en 1939, la Gendarmerie employait trois membres et deux sténographes; ses unités situées sur le terrain, dans les grandes villes, enquêtaient sur des menaces comme le mouvement fasciste. Les activités d'espionnage liées à la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et la défection subséquente du chiffreur soviétique Igor Gouzenko, en septembre 1945, a totalement dissuadé le gouvernement de réduire l'importance du renseignement de sécurité au niveau de l'avant-guerre.

Les révélations de M. Gouzenko voulant qu'il ait existé des réseaux complexes d'espionnage soviétique au Canada a marqué l'arrivée, dans l'ère moderne, des renseignements de sécurité au Canada. Auparavant, les autorités avaient perçu la « menace communiste » en termes de menace envers le mouvement ouvrier. Les renseignements fournis par M. Gouzenko ont montré que les Soviétiques de l'époque ne se contentaient pas de cultiver des ouvriers rebelles : ils étaient résolus à acquérir des renseignements militaires, scientifiques et technologiques par n'importe quel moyen. De telles connaissances étaient devenues la clé du progrès, et les Soviétiques avaient l'intention d'aller de l'avant. Ainsi, à mesure que l'après-guerre a cédé la place à la guerre froide, les opérations de renseignements de sécurité au Canada ont pris de l'ampleur en réaction à cette nouvelle menace.

  • Le surintendant de la GRC, John Leopold (1890-1952) était considéré comme l'autorité en ce qui avait trait au Parti communiste. En tant qu'inspecteur à Ottawa, il a été l'un des premiers officiers de la GRC à interroger Igor Gouzenko.
  • L'affaire Gouzenko a fait prendre conscience aux Canadiens de la réalité mysteriéuse des activités d'espionnage et a marqué le début de l'ère de la guerre froide.
  • Igor Gouzenko (1919-1982)

Une Nouvelle Approche

L'espionnage est cependant vite devenu seulement un des aspects du monde complexe qu'affrontaient les Canadiens chargés du renseignement. Les années 1960 ont apporté des défis d'un genre complètement différent. Au Québec, le Front de libération du Québec (FLQ) a recouru à l'assassinat, à l'enlèvement, à l'explosion de bombes et à d'autres actes terroristes pour atteindre son objectif politique. D'autres événements, comme le débat sur le déploiement d'armes nucléaires en sol canadien, la participation croissante des États-Unis à la guerre du Vietnam et l'évolution d'un mouvement de paix énergique présentaient un potentiel de subversion, de violence motivée par la politique et d'activités influencées par l'étranger. Il fallait identifier les menaces potentielles, mais pour maintenir préserver la démocratie dont jouissaient les Canadiens, il fallait également protéger scrupuleusement le droit à la dissidence politique légitime.

Ces tâches étaient rendues encore plus complexes par la combinaison contradictoire des priorités et des responsabilités quant aux enquêtes dans le domaine du renseignement de sécurité comparativement au travail de la police. Deux commissions distinctes, l'une présidée par le juge Mackenzie, en 1969, et l'autre par le juge McDonald, en 1977, ont recommandé de séparer les fonctions de renseignement de sécurité de celles de la GRC et de former un service civil qu'on chargerait de ces fonctions. Les deux commissions ont reconnu que le problème d'équilibrer le besoin d'obtenir des renseignements de sécurité exacts et efficaces, d'une part, et le respect des droits et des libertés démocratiques, d'autre part, ne pourrait se résoudre de façon appropriée tant que les responsabilités en matière de renseignement de sécurité resteraient entre les mains de la police fédérale.

  • La crise du FLQ au Québec, dans les années 1960, est un des événements qui a éventuellement mené à la création d'un service civil du renseignement de sécurité, distinct de la GRC. (Photo : PC/Peter Bregg)
  • En conformité aux recommandations de la commission McDonald, le gouvernement du Canada a présenté un projet de loi pour la création du Service Canadien du Renseignement de Sécurité.

La création du SCRS

En 1970, à la suite du rapport de la Commission MacKenzie, John Starnes, un agent du service extérieur rattaché au ministère des Affaires extérieures, est devenu le premier directeur général civil du service de sécurité de la GRC. Les liens institutionnels entre le service de sécurité et l'organisme principal de la GRC se sont assouplis, mais les problèmes attribuables à la nature différente du travail relatif au renseignement de sécurité d'une part, et du travail policier d'autre part, sont restés. L'établissement d'un service de renseignement de sécurité civil a découlé des conclusions et des recommandations de la Commission McDonald. En août 1981, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé la création d'un service de renseignement de sécurité distinct de la GRC. Le Groupe de transition sur le renseignement de sécurité a été formé, avec pour mandat la planification et la supervision de l'établissement du nouvel organisme.

La première loi établissant le service de renseignements de sécurité, le projet de loi C-157 intitulé la Loi, a été déposée au Parlement en mai 1983. On a créé un comité spécial du Sénat pour étudier le projet de loi en réponse aux inquiétudes du public. Présidé par le sénateur Michael Pitfield, ce comité a déposé ses conclusions et ses recommandations en novembre 1983. Tenant compte des suggestions formulées dans ce rapport, le gouvernement fédéral a déposé à la Chambre des communes un projet de loi modifié, soit le projet C-9, en janvier 1984. Les deux chambres du Parlement l'ont adopté et lui ont accordé la sanction royale en juin 1984. Le SCRS a vu le jour officiellement le 16 juillet 1984; Thomas D'Arcy (Ted) Finn en était le directeur. En plus d'établir un service civil de renseignement de sécurité, la Loi créait le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS) et le poste d'inspecteur général du SCRS, afin d'examiner les activités du SCRS et de rendre compte au Parlement.

  • L'insigne se compose du pal canadien chargé d'une feuille d'érable rouge et  entourée d'une palissade bleu, bordée d'or. Le tout est sommé de la couronne  royale.
  • La Loi sur le SCRS a reçu la sanction royale en juin 1984 et est entrée en vigueur le 16 juillet de la même année.
  • L'immeuble de l'administration centrale du SCRS à Ottawa.

Le SCRS s'adapte

En 1987, James Kelleher, qui était alors Solliciteur général du Canada, a chargé l'ancien greffier du Conseil privé, Gordon Osbaldeston, d'examiner certaines inquiétudes soulevées par le CSARS et de soumettre un plan d'action. Le rapport Osbaldeston recommandait qu'on modifie le comité exécutif, proposait l'adoption d'une nouvelle infrastructure de soutien et suggérait l'élimination de la Direction de l'antisubversion. En 1988, le Service avait un nouveau directeur, Reid Morden, et des changements internes significatifs avaient été apportés, dont le démantèlement de la Direction de l'antisubversion, comme il avait été suggéré.

La loi fondatrice du SCRS prévoyait également que le Service continuerait d'évoluer en un organisme efficace et responsable. À cette fin, l'article 56 demandait qu'on entreprenne une révision complète des dispositions et de l'application de la Loi sur le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité après juillet 1989. Tel qu'exigé, l'examen requis cinq ans après l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi a été effectué par un comité spécial de la Chambre des communes, sous la direction du président Blaine Thacker. Le rapport du comité, intitulé Une période de transition mais non de crise et terminé en septembre 1990, déclarait que le Service et la Loi étaient essentiellement sur la bonne voie, mais il recommandait quand même des améliorations. Pierre Cadieux, qui était alors Solliciteur général du Canada, a répondu à ces recommandations dans Maintenir le cap, une étude qui décrivait en détail le mandat et le rôle du SCRS ainsi que les exigences du Canada en matière de sécurité nationale.

Une troisième révision de la dynamique de la sécurité nationale s'est terminée en 1992. À la lumière des nouvelles circonstances géopolitiques engendrées par la fin de la guerre froide, le Solliciteur général a demandé à Ray Protti, qui était alors directeur du SCRS, d'examiner le nouveau contexte du renseignement de sécurité pour déterminer si le Service devait se restructurer et quelles ressources seraient nécessaires pour faire face à cette évolution. L'examen a conclu que le Service était essentiellement bien structuré pour répondre au nouveau contexte du renseignement de sécurité.

Le SCRS d'aujourd'hui

Plus de 20 ans après sa création, le SCRS est devenu un organisme extrêmement différent de celui de 1984. La transition depuis un modèle d'application de la loi à un autre qui se concentre sur la collecte de renseignements et sur l'antiterrorisme s'est opérée à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990.

Sous la direction de Ward Elcock, de 1994 à 2004, le Service a mûri pour devenir un organisme expérimenté, hautement discipliné et très efficace. Il a ajusté ses priorités pour répondre aux nouvelles menaces, tant en Amérique du Nord qu'à l'étranger. On a accordé beaucoup d'importance à l'échange de renseignements. Le SCRS entretient maintenant des relations avec plus de 200 organismes dans le monde.

Entre-temps, la Loi sur le Service Canadien du Renseignement de Sécurité a survécu à l'épreuve du temps. Elle continue de remplir sa fonction, qui est de protéger les droits des Canadiens.

En novembre 2004, Jim Judd a été nommé directeur du SCRS, remplaçant le directeur par intérim Dale Neufeld. En juin 2009, Richard B. Fadden à été nommé directeur du SCRS. En octobre 2013 Michel Coulombe as été nommé directeur.

Date de modification :