We are in the process of moving our services and information to Canada.ca. Our current csis.gc.ca website will remain available until the move to Canada.ca is complete.

The Security Screening Program

CSIS has two major operational programs mandated by the CSIS Act: the collection of threat-related intelligence and security screening for threats to national security.

One of the Service’s most visible functions, the CSIS Security Screening program helps the Government of Canada prevent non-Canadians who pose a threat to national security from entering Canada and acquiring status in this country, as well as preventing persons of national security concern from gaining access to classified or sensitive government information, assets, sites or major events.
In doing so, the CSIS Security Screening program serves as a primary means of keeping Canada and Canadians safe from threats to national security, including terrorism and extremism, espionage, and the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

The CSIS Security Screening program has two key sub-programs: Government Security Screening (GSS) and Immigration and Citizenship Screening (ICS).

Government Security Screening

Authorized by the Financial Administration Act (FAA), guided by the Government of Canada Policy on Government Security (PGS), the Standard on Security Screening (SSS), and mandated by sections 13 and 15 of the CSIS Act, Government Security Screening(GSS) investigates and provides security assessments on persons whose employment with the Government of Canada requires them to have lawful access to classified information or sensitive sites, such as major ports, airports, nuclear facilities or the Parliamentary Precinct.

The CSIS Act also allows the Service, with the approval of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, to enter into arrangements with provincial governments and police forces to provide security assessments.

As defined in Treasury Board Secretariat’s Standard on Security Screening, there are four levels of security clearances, each of which requires CSIS security screening:  Site Access, Secret (Level II), Top Secret (Level III), and Enhanced Top Secret (Level III). The level of security clearance required by a position is determined by the need for access to classified information or assets in the performance of duties associated with employment or contractual work. 

In addition, through the GSS, CSIS also:

  • Assists the RCMP with the accreditation process for Canadians and foreign nationals seeking access or participating in major events in Canada (e.g., the 2015 Pan Am and Parapan Am Games in Toronto);
  • Provides security assessments to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) with regard to drivers who apply for membership under the Canada-US Free and Secure Trade (FAST) program; and,
  • Through reciprocal screening agreements, provides assessments to foreign governments, agencies and international organizations (e.g., NATO) with regard to Canadians seeking to work in sensitive positions abroad.

A CSIS security assessment is only one element of the security screening process undertaken by a department or agency.  Security screening is conducted with the written consent of the applicant.  The Financial Administration Act (FAA) gives departments and agencies the exclusive responsibility to initiate, grant, deny, revoke or suspend security clearances or site access clearances.  Enquiries on the status of a security clearance application should be directed to the sponsoring department or agency.

How do I get a government security clearance?

If you are applying for a job with the Government of Canada and a government security clearance is a condition of employment, contact the human resources representative of the hiring government department.

If you are a general contractor and require a security clearance, visit the Contract Security Program page of the Public Services and Procurement Canada website at: http://iss-ssi.pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca/ressources-resources/contactisp-contactezpsi-eng.html

Immigration and Citizenship Screening

As authorized by sections 14 and 15 of the CSIS Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and the Citizenship Act, CSIS conducts immigration and citizenship screening to provide security advice to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) on persons seeking some form of status or protection in Canada to ensure that they do not represent a threat to national security.

Through this program, CSIS provides security advice on

  • citizenship applicants;
  • permanent resident applicants;
  • temporary resident visa applicants, whether visitors, students or temporary workers; and
  • persons applying for refugee status in Canada.

CSIS provides advice to its partners on potential threats to national security.  The responsibility for decision making regarding a person’s admissibility to Canada as it relates to visa issuance (temporary or permanent resident visas) as well as citizenship applications belongs to IRCC.  Decisions on applications for refugee status in Canada are made by the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB).

Security screening is conducted with the written consent of the applicant.  As CSIS is one of several organizations that IRCC may consult during the immigration screening process, enquiries related to the status of a specific immigration screening application should be directed to IRCC.

For general information on immigration/ citizenship/ refugee/ visa-related issues, contact Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) at 1-888-242-2100 or at their website www.cic.gc.ca

How can I find out about the status of my immigration screening file?

Effective 2018-01-08, the Assistant Director, Operations will no longer respond to requests from individuals on the security screening status of security clearance or immigration / citizenship applications.

Under the Privacy Act, individuals have the right to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions.  Therefore, individuals may request records relating to the status of their security clearance or immigration/citizenship applications by visiting the CSIS Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) site at www.csis.gc.ca/tp/index-en.php.

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos informations vers Canada.ca. Le site Web actuel du scrs.gc.ca et carriereauscrs.ca restera accessible jusqu'à ce que le transfert vers Canada.ca soit terminé.

Le filtrage de sécurité

Le mandat du SCRS compte deux grands programmes opérationnels au terme de la Loi sur le SCRS, soit la collecte de renseignements liés à la menace et le filtrage de sécurité lié aux menaces pour la sécurité nationale. Le programme de filtrage de sécurité du SCRS, l’une de ses fonctions les plus visibles, aide le gouvernement du Canada à empêcher des étrangers représentant une menace pour la sécurité nationale d’entrer au Canada et d’y obtenir un statut et à empêcher les personnes suscitant des préoccupations sur le plan de la sécurité d’avoir accès à des informations classifiées ou sensibles du gouvernement, à des biens ou à des sites sensibles ou à des événements importants au Canada. Ainsi, ce programme vise principalement à protéger le Canada et les Canadiens contre les menaces pour la sécurité nationale comme l’extrémisme, le terrorisme, l’espionnage et la prolifération des armes de destruction massive.

Le programme de filtrage de sécurité compte deux grands sous-programmes : le filtrage pour le gouvernement et le filtrage des demandes de citoyenneté et d’immigration).

Filtrage de sécurité pour le gouvernement

Conformément à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP), à la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement (PSG), à la Norme sur le filtrage de sécurité et aux articles 13 et 15 de la Loi sur le SCRS, le filtrage pour le gouvernement permet, au moyen d’enquêtes, de fournir des évaluations de sécurité sur les personnes qui, dans le cadre d’un emploi au gouvernement du Canada, auraient accès légalement à des informations classifiées ou à des sites sensibles, notamment aux principaux ports, aux aéroports, aux installations nucléaires et à la Cité parlementaire.

En vertu de la Loi sur le SCRS, le Service peut, avec l’approbation du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, conclure des ententes avec les gouvernements provinciaux et les corps policiers pour fournir des évaluations de sécurité.

La Norme sur le filtrage de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor prévoit trois niveaux de cote de sécurité qui nécessitent la participation de la Direction du filtrage de sécurité du SCRS : secret (niveau II), très secret (niveau III) et très secret - filtrage approfondi (niveau III). Le niveau de la cote de sécurité requise pour un poste est tributaire du besoin d’accès à des informations classifiées ou à des biens classifiés dans le cadre de l’exercice des fonctions liées à un emploi ou à un contrat. 

De plus, le SCRS peut également :

  • appuyer la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, dans le processus d’accréditation des Canadiens et des ressortissants étrangers qui veulent participer à des événements de grande envergure au Canada ou y avoir accès (p. ex. les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de 2015 à Toronto);
  • fournir à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) des évaluations sur les chauffeurs qui souhaitent adhérer au programme canado-américain Expéditions rapides et sécuritaires (EXPRES),
  • fournir à des gouvernements étrangers, à des agences et à des organisations internationales (comme l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord), en vertu d’ententes de réciprocité sur le filtrage, des évaluations de sécurité sur des Canadiens qui sont pressentis pour des postes sensibles dans un pays étranger.

Une évaluation de filtrage du SCRS n'est qu’un élément du processus de filtrage de sécurité entrepris par un ministère ou un département. Le filtrage de sécurité est uniquement effectué avec le consentement écrit de l’intéressé. Le SCRS est responsable de fournir des évaluations de sécurité, mais la LGFP donne aux ministères et aux organismes le pouvoir de décision exclusif pour ce qui est d’initier, attribuer, de refuser ou de révoquer les cotes de sécurité et l’accès aux sites. Pour des renseignements sur l’état d’une demande de cote de sécurité, veuillez-vous adresser à l’organisme ou le ministère parrain.  

Comment puis-je obtenir une cote de sécurité du gouvernement?

Si vous postulez un emploi au sein du gouvernement du Canada dont la cote de sécurité du gouvernement constitue une condition d’emploi, veuillez communiquer avec le représentant des Ressources humaines du ministère embaucheur.

Si vous êtes un entrepreneur général et que vous devez obtenir une cote de sécurité, veuillez consulter la page Web du Programme de sécurité des contrats sur le site Web de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada :
http://iss-ssi.pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca/ressources-resources/contactisp-contactezpsi-fra.html

Filtrage des demandes d’immigration et de citoyenneté

En vertu des articles 14 et 15 de la Loi sur le SCRS, de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés et de la Loi sur la citoyenneté, le SCRS effectue le filtrage des demandes d’immigration et de citoyenneté pour fournir à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et à l’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) des conseils sur les personnes qui cherchent à obtenir un statut ou une protection au Canada et s’assurer qu’elles ne constituent pas une menace pour la sécurité nationale.

Par l’entremise de ce programme, le SCRS fournit des conseils en matière de sécurité sur :

  • les demandeurs de citoyenneté;
  • les demandeurs de résidence permanente;
  • les demandeurs de visa de résidence temporaire (visiteurs, étudiants ou travailleurs temporaires);
  • les demandeurs d’asile au Canada.

Le SCRS offre des conseils à ses partenaires sur les menaces éventuelles pour la sécurité nationale. Toutefois, il incombe à Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada de décider si une personne peut entrer au Canada, d’accorder un visa (visa de résidence temporaire ou permanente) et d’évaluer les demandes de citoyenneté. C’est la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR) qui prend les décisions relatives aux demandes d’asile au Canada.

Le filtrage de sécurité est uniquement effectué avec le consentement écrit de l’intéressé.Le SCRS est l’un de plusieurs organismes que l’IRCC peut consulter lors de l’évaluation d’une demande d’immigration. Les demandes spécifiquement liés au statut d’une application d’immigration ou d’une demande de citoyenneté doivent être adressées à IRCC.  

Si vous avez des questions générales liées aux demandes d’immigration, de citoyenneté, d’asile et de visas, communiquez avec Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) au 1-888-242-2100 ou consultez le site Web www.cic.gc.ca.

Comment puis-je connaître le statut de ma demande d'immigration et de citoyenneté?

A compter du 2018-01-08, le directeur adjoint des Opérations ne répondra plus aux demandes émanant des individus concernant le statut d’application d’immigration ou de demande de citoyenneté.

En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les individus ont le droit d’accéder leurs renseignements personnels détenus par des institutions gouvernementales. Par conséquent, les individus peuvent demander les documents relatifs au statut de leur cote de sécurité ou leur application d’immigration ou de citoyenneté en visitant la Section de l'Accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) du site SCRS https://csis.gc.ca/tp/index-fr.php

Date de modification :